logo

Live Production Software Forums


Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
sportzcast  
#1 Posted : Friday, June 14, 2013 6:48:54 PM(UTC)
sportzcast

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/14/2013(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Florida

Thanks: 1 times
Yes an file watch that will update the image overlays when the file changes would be great. We can have this working on your system by Monday. Could this work on multiple images/overlays?

We have an add on to vMix that will generate a full graphic live scoreboard based on most any scoreboard system. The problem is the scoreboard overlay system outputs a constantly changing PNG file to a known directory and file. We are NOW able to read the file and overlay it over a live stream. So good so far. The problem is vMix only reads the file into its buffer once. We are constantly updating the PNG file to reflect scoreboard updates.

Is there any vMix could read the updated file by implementing a file watch?

Or is there a location we could write the PNG file directly?

Mike

BTW we got this working with Wirecast and Newtek.
admin  
#2 Posted : Friday, June 14, 2013 11:27:31 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 1/13/2010(UTC)
Posts: 5,156
Man
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Was thanked: 4159 time(s) in 1494 post(s)
Hi Mike,

I will reply here in case others want to comment on this particular feature.
Would you be ok with a simple modification of the "Image" input in vMix where it monitors the single file for changes and updates automatically?

Regards,

Martin
vMix
thanks 1 user thanked admin for this useful post.
sportzcast on 6/15/2013(UTC)
admin  
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 11:14:34 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 1/13/2010(UTC)
Posts: 5,156
Man
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Was thanked: 4159 time(s) in 1494 post(s)
NOTE: this functionality will be built into vMix 10

I've created a sample XAML control project below to demonstrate dynamic updating of images in vMix:

http://www.vmix.com.au/download/dynamicimage.zip

Instructions

1. Extract dynamicimage.zip into an empty folder
2. Open vMix
3. Click Add Input and select the XAML tab
4. Browse to the dynamicimage folder and find the DynamicImage.dll file in the bin\release folder
5. Click OK in vMix

The input will load with the default image which is located in bin\release\dynamicimage.png
If this file is updated outside of vMix, it will be updated automatically.

Modifying this project

This project is a VB.NET 3.5 WPF User Control built in Visual Studio 2010.
Programmers can modify this project to implement custom functionality according to the guidelines below:
http://www.vmix.com.au/h...veloperInformation1.html

IceStream  
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 7:28:42 PM(UTC)
IceStream

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/7/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,602
Man
Location: Canada

Thanks: 33 times
Was thanked: 501 time(s) in 470 post(s)
Perhaps I have misunderstood or have done something wrong.
First off, the DynamicImage.dll as XAML input only loaded the upper left quarter of the png file (vMix SD x64 9.1.0.34)
Modifying and saving the png file in the bin\release folder had no effect on the input.
Adding the XAML input again loaded the original png image again, even though it had been modified and saved with the same file name.
Note: I have recently updated to .NET framework 4.0 (does 3.5 get completely overwritten? And is that the issue? Or have I completely missed the boat on how this is supposed to work?)

Ice
sportzcast  
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 7:54:49 PM(UTC)
sportzcast

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/14/2013(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Florida

Thanks: 1 times
I too see only the upper left quadrant of the PNG file. This is probably how the XAML stage is set up in the DLL program. We have not yet tried to modify the source. That will come in a day or to. For now this is a great step to import dynamic PNG (and xaml animations) that are changing on the fly.

IceStream wrote:
Perhaps I have misunderstood or have done something wrong.
First off, the DynamicImage.dll as XAML input only loaded the upper left quarter of the png file (vMix SD x64 9.1.0.34)
Modifying and saving the png file in the bin\release folder had no effect on the input.
Adding the XAML input again loaded the original png image again, even though it had been modified and saved with the same file name.
Note: I have recently updated to .NET framework 4.0 (does 3.5 get completely overwritten? And is that the issue? Or have I completely missed the boat on how this is supposed to work?)

Ice

admin  
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 10:56:17 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 1/13/2010(UTC)
Posts: 5,156
Man
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Was thanked: 4159 time(s) in 1494 post(s)
The example is configured to work with 1920x1080 so you will need to set that as the output size in vMix.
Any other resolutions will require changing the project and recompiling.

Regards,

Martin
vMix
IceStream  
#7 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 3:45:00 PM(UTC)
IceStream

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/7/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,602
Man
Location: Canada

Thanks: 33 times
Was thanked: 501 time(s) in 470 post(s)
So it won't work in SD currently, regardless of the PNG size?
That's basically the modification I made to the PNG, added text and resized to 720x405...
I don't think I have the wherewithal or software to change the project, what is required to do that?
sportzcast  
#8 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 3:50:01 PM(UTC)
sportzcast

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/14/2013(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Florida

Thanks: 1 times
Is your graphic changing that you are trying to load? If not just import it via an image. That will work fine.

IceStream wrote:
So it won't work in SD currently, regardless of the PNG size?
That's basically the modification I made to the PNG, added text and resized to 720x405...
I don't think I have the wherewithal or software to change the project, what is required to do that?

IceStream  
#9 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 6:06:47 PM(UTC)
IceStream

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/7/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,602
Man
Location: Canada

Thanks: 33 times
Was thanked: 501 time(s) in 470 post(s)
@ Sportzcast
I'm not sure I understand your question.
Importing a PNG as an image is not my issue.
Using the above XAML control project in an SD environment is, I am just trying to confirm that and ascertain whether I am able to resolve the issue on my own.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.